Romance...without the smut?

writing
question

I have to say, I love a good gay romance; as an LGBT person I almost never find them on the shelves out in bookstores and such so here is a good place to find them. Looking for stuff to read, though, I’ve noticed that most of them involve the characters “getting physical” and the readers are often rooting for that to happen from the beginning.

Now I’ve never put anything on here before but I wanted to give it a try. One of the main plot points involves romances between guys, but I’ve never written anything beyond fluff before, and frankly, I’m not really keen to. Not only would it be horribly inaccurate because I don’t have any experience figuring out how all that works, but honestly that makes me kind of uncomfortable. I might be 18 but I still skip through all the sexy scenes in TV shows even if it doesn’t show much. I don’t judge anyone who likes to read or watch that, but it’s just not my thing.

That being said, just about every male x male story I come across has that kind of scene and from what I see, the readers like it. So I’m wondering if my story’s doomed from the start because I’d rather most of the clothes stay on regardless of the other content.

Does anyone know what the best way to go is? Do I try to find someone else to help ghostwrite a scene like that or can my story survive without it?

I did not do MxM specifically, but I have no problems whatsoever with clothes on, and naked emotions instead.

I think you should be fine. My philosophy has always been “If sex/romance is not part of the plot then leave it out.”
I have a story where the main characters are gay but they have subtle nods to it at first and then they grow together but they are an adventuring duo not a smut factory.