Seeking advice: should I post my entire novel now or post it in increments?

I’ve been working on my sci-fi novel for a couple of years, and finished it a few months ago. I’d love to share it on Wattpad, but I don’t know whether it’s more effective to just dump every chapter at once or wait and post a chapter every day. I am very new to the Wattpad thing, and so far all I’ve posted is the first couple of chapters with virtually zero fanfare or readership. What now? Thanks everyone

Most people find success by posting a chapter once or twice weekly. To find readers, you’ll need to advertise and have a lot of patience.

6 Likes

Don’t! Please, do it weekly or biweekly. I made this mistake thinking it was okay but since i haven’t been updating weekly, the algorithms ignored my story.

5 Likes

Also, you’re competing with millions of people on this website so don’t expect to gain a bunch of reads the next day. Wattpad is known for having predominantly Romance readers. It’s gonna be hard gaining loyal readers if you don’t promote your book.

2 Likes

Increments 100%. One per week, twice per week, or biweekly.

I made the mistake of posting my first book on here all at once and it took it over half a year to get more than 20 reads. Even afterward, it was a long grind of promoting my book to get anyone to take a look at it.

Wattpad’s algorithm favors books that post at regular intervals, so you will absolutely get more readers if you take your time posting!

2 Likes

Dumping the whole story at once won’t gain many reads because some readers find a large amount of chapters at once daunting (or maybe that’s just me). So, you would post a chapter once every week, either Friday or Monday. It shows readers that there is a steady schedule and it gives them time to process previous chapters. That’s how I am as a reader anyways.

1 Like

Other than advertising in the “share your story” area, where is a good place to let people know? Reddit? Somewhere else?

1 Like