Self-Publishing Experience

Hello,

I’ve been a self-published author about 1,5 years and If you need help, you can ask it out (Especially Smashwords).

My book is far from being ready to publish but I’ve already been thinking about self-publishing :slight_smile: Just don’t know how to go about it when the time is right.

It totally depends on your mindset. If you feel ready about every single detail in your story, then just write it out. Find an editor or something after you finish.

1 Like

I will definitely make sure I find someone to edit the book. I’m having the first 5 chapters edited at the moment.

It takes time the cover, manuscript, formatting, editing… believe me

You will have to make a lot of decisions.

Format? ebook, paperback (and what size), hardcover, audio. You can do one or multiple.

Distribution? Do you want to be wide (your book is available in many places) or exclusive to one (such as Amazon KDP). With Amazon, if you’re exclusive you then have to decide if you want to enroll in their Select program. Also, what markets do you want to sell in? For example, just in the U.S. or everywhere in the world.

Pricing? You’re the publisher. You choose the price. On Amazon, the price determines your royalty percentage. And if you sell worldwide you need to price it in the local currency and take VAT into consideration in the European countries.

If you only go ebook, formatting is relatively easy. If you go print, it’s more complex. And the cover with a print book is more difficult to do (you need to account for the back cover and spine, and the spine is affected by the number of pages — thickness of book).

Marketing? Someone needs to know your book exists to purchase it. How will you get it in front of them? For me, this is the hardest part about self-publishing (or maybe publishing in general).

5 Likes

THIS. This was what I struggle with the most. I selfpublished and then I never took the time to market it so obviously it never really went anywhere