Should I post my whole novel all at once, or serialize it?

I’m a noob. I’ve read a few Wattpad books and I’ve just started posting my own novel. Still learning how everything works.

My novel has 40 chapters and is already complete. Is it better to post it all at once as a completed story, or serialize it, posting a couple of chapters a week? What gets the most reads and engagement?

1 Like

For Wattpad, post twice a week. Never, ever, post it all at once. This site relies on an algorithm, and to appease it, you have to update at least once a week and at most twice. Twice is the soft spot. If you post it all at once, you’ll only create a small flicker in the algorithm, and many people will miss you.

You may want to check out this thread. It’s quite detailed

7 Likes

So, Wattpad as a system that determines how you get up in ranks and featured and all that jazz.
Based on that system it is best to upload but not publish the whole thing at once. Release a chapter or 2 every week on a schedule so that readers know when to go read, comment, vote, etc. this triggers the system and keeps you near the top.
When you publish all at once then people might go and read it all in one afternoon with a couple comments but then not go back. So, when the system resets each week on read counts your reads end up really good for one week but crap the next which knocks you down in the lists.

Of course, you also can post in the share your story threads to try and keep interest up on top it all

4 Likes

Also, this thread is more fit for Improve Your Writing, as this is about Wattpad, and not publishing like self-pub or trad :slight_smile: Do you know how to move your thread? I can run you through it if you don’t

2 Likes

Thanks for the advice and the link to that thread. I really appreciate it.

2 Likes

Oops sorry. No I don’t know how to move it. Hmm, I’ll see if I can work it out.

2 Likes

Thanks - great tip on pre-loading the novel, and then releasing gradually.

1 Like