Small Irritation with "Undiscovered Stories"

Alright, so I’ve never made it big. Same with most of Wattpad’s many many many writers. I love reading books with small readership, because I know, as a small author myself, how it feels to have someone really read your book. I’ve mostly scrolled and searched tags, 'cause I REALLY don’t enjoy romance and that’s a huge chunk of WP. So I decided to give the “Undiscovered Stories” thing a try. Here’s the titles, authors, and readcount of them as of 8:51 p.m., Eastern Time Zone, USA, 11/24/19:
Note: If you’re an author on this list, I’m not trying to diss you. Congrats on getting this far and I’m sure your book is great.

Two of these are Watty winners
I don’t know what Wattpad’s definition of “Undiscovered” is, but I disagree. 5k is the max for “undiscovered” for me, and that’s stretching it. I thought Undiscovered Writers were the ones who hadn’t been, you know, discovered. Most WP books have, what, a few hundred reads at the most? These “Undiscovered” books have 42.1 thousand reads. The average of these is over 11k reads.

Could someone explain this selection?

Again, I’m not meaning to insult these authors.

Hi there, is it a thread for undiscovered books? Or the discovered books people think are undiscovered?

3 Likes

I was asking Wattpad about their definition of “Undiscovered”

3 Likes

Your definition of discovered doesn’t match the Wattpad staff’s definition of discovered.

9 Likes

Oh. So you believe reads over 5k are discovered?

2 Likes

What is theirs?

1 Like

Not exactly sure, but the books you listed aren’t exactly popular.

5 Likes

Yes. Sorry for the mispost.

1 Like

I think wattpad has discovered books which only popular. No offence, but why can’t a book be more famous if it is written by a part-time writer?

2 Likes

Are*

1 Like