Struggling to get regular readers for my romance story. Anyone else facing the same problem?

So basically, I’ve been writing a story for more than six months now. It’s also doing pretty well in terms of ranking, reads and votes. However, these reads and votes come from read for reads and other reading and critiquing deals only. There are very few regular readers and people to give me feedback and help.

Does anyone else face this problem? Come on here and we can talk about it.

How to even get out of this though?

9 Likes

I’m just going to copy and paste what I said to others who asked the same thing. Here it goes:

It depends on some factors:

• first of all, know that gaining readers/followers will take time depending on what you post on here. Some people gain 100 followers/reads in their first month/week and sometimes people gain 100 in a year.
  • advertising on SYS threads (but don’t just rely on this)
  • sharing your story with people asking for recommendations in the forums. This helped me A LOT because I found a lot of people from the forums reading my most recent book and they enjoyed it which was super great. :slight_smile: Some people even said they were browsing through these forums, found interest in my book, and ended up reading it. :smiley:
  • using your book/characters in character/story games throughout the forums
  • Participating in feedback threads: Not only does this help improve your writing, but you can always find people who are interested in following you/reading more of your work.
  • Are your books in Wattpad’s favorite genre? Romance is Wattpad’s ultimate favorite and then there are others that my brain can’t remember at the moment. But yeah, Wattpad has predominantly Romance readers.
  • Is the story poorly written? Many readers leave once they notice repetitive grammar and spelling mistakes. I’m one of them tbh.
  • Book Clubs: This helps boost up your reads/followers and you can even make new loyal readers and friends