Style over content

I’m a newbie here, fresh to the world of Wattpad and online publishing… I’m also verrry oldskool in that I’m generally not swayed by flash covers (these aren’t comics, after all so the artwork is not representative of the story) so I’m questioning the necessity of these covers. I’m a photographer so will probably be using some of my photos to act as de facto covers for my work but I can’t help but notice that there’s almost an industry where people are creating fantastic covers for stories to attract readers… but just because someone’s clicked on a story that doesn’t necessarily mean that they’ve liked it, surely?
Am I missing the point of Wattpad entirely as I’m not overly bothered by the number of hits per se but whether people have enjoyed the stories. (this probably stems from my UX days lol) Feedback, to me, is far more important. Did you like the story, etc -if so why?

As a disclaimer - I’m not making a comment on those people who have flash covers at all. To be fair, I’ve not had much of a chance to explore the site (save from setting up my own profile). I’m genuinely interested in the concept!

Firstly, welcome to Wattpad :partying_face: :tada:

You raise some really interesting questions here, and I’ve been active on the site for 6 months or so (so still fairly new), and I 100% had these same questions in my earlier days.

Nope. I’m sure plenty of people have clicked on a story because they thought the cover was cool, then had no interested in the story itself.

I think the key here is the attracting readers piece. Reality is that people judge a book by its cover - physical or digital - and on a site where there are literally millions of books, you need to make yours stand out. An interesting cover is the easiest way to do that.