TaleFlick

For those interested, there’s a new start-up for people seeking their stories to be made into movies. It’s called TaleFlick and was founded by the producer of the movie “Marjorie Prime” and a former Netflix exec.

For $88, you get your short story, novel, etc. on their database for one year. I guess movie people will search the database looking for original stories they would adapt to the screen.

Sounds kind of weird to me, but it seems legit. A link to an article about it is: https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/book-database-taleflick-launched-by-producer-netflix-exec-1138119

I'm an established full-time author - willing to answer questions if you have them

So you have to pay for them to consider your story? Sounds fishy. At least you’re keeping all the rights to it. I definitely think it’s an interesting initiative.

I don’t believe THEY are considering your story. They’re providing a service to keep your story on their database for a year. Others in the business will search the database for new material.

Oooh, so they’re kind of a host then? Or an ad board. Then it actually does make sense you pay a fee.

I just looked and apparently they’re not accepting short stories :slightly_smiling_face: it’s a pretty cool idea though and looks legit!

I’d probably feel right at home with this start up. But $88 is a lot of money to be parting with.

So, basically, you give away the rights to your book for a few grand, the movie industry stands to make millions from it. Sounds about right.:rofl:

Interesting…although I think it’s mainly making a GIGANTIC haystack and finding needles will be VERY hard. I applaud the fact that they are at least trying something.

No one is considering anything. They are just making a single place where others can look for things. It’s essentially a fee to be put in a database, and it’s quite reasonable all things considered.