There's Me And Then There's...Everyone Else?

writing
discussion

I’m going to share with you a little story that starts like this:

I am now a published indie author. After 44 years. That’s a long ass time to wait for a book to be published. A long time indeed. And this is the first of many books planned to be released over the next decade (depending on if I still have a job in that time).

So anyways…here’s the thing. People here and everywhere else has complained mightily about e-book pricing. Or to be specific…mine.

See last week–right before Christmas–I had someone on Quotev (of all places) complain that my book prices were simply “too high”. That I should personally lower the prices to about…three dollars for my e-book and nine bucks for my print.

I said, “I can’t do that. The book is 535 pages in length and I cannot see myself going that low.”

As for the print price? That was Amazon’s doing. Not mine. I didn’t say, “Sure. Go ahead and set it to $16.50 and watch people lose themselves over the issue.”

They set the price because 535 pages is a LOT of book!

Lots to read.

This is probably why I haven’t had many sales in the past week since the book went live.

But here’s the thing I’ve noticed: Indie authors like me are expected by and large by the reading public to simply price ourselves under the table (or under market value) or simply give away our books for FREE.

Like forever.

Sounds like a good plan, huh? You toil and suffer in agonizing silence for much of your life and now people want you to give away your hard earned work for free or they want everything on the CHEAP.

Suddenly now…people can’t afford a $5.99 e-book. (Or it will be $6.99 next month after I made an interesting discovery on Amazon over Christmas Day two days ago.)

Cannot AFFORD.

But a $6 coffee at Starbucks? Sure! $10 DVD? No problem. The first season to Star Trek: Discovery on blu-ray? Piece of cake. It’s money well spent.

Except…