Tips for an Aspiring YA Realistic Fiction Writer?

writing

I am an aspiring YA Realistic Fiction writer, but I’m still on the younger side… So I was wondering if anyone else struggles with this problem, but how do you write about experiences that you haven’t had yet (Think dates and first kisses, vacationing unsupervised with your best friends, etc)? Thanks in advance! :grin:

Most YA writers are adults who have lived through the YA years and know what to write about. Write about the age you are and the things you know about if you are just starting out. It’s too difficult if you are not experienced to write with authority about anything. In the meantime do a lot of YA reading to get the chops for writing about it. Reading is great experience. I write YA and NA but I’ve had a lot of experience and I write from that experience. If you want realism, it’s hard to fake it.

When it comes down to writing about experiences you’ve never had, it’s best to do some research. This could mean reading about these things, asking people what it was like, looking on the internet about so-and-so.

What you write depends on the situation of the character as well as the plot.

I’ll use your examples as my examples. :wink:

• Dates.