Traditional publishing

So I’ve been writing for many years, and have spent a particular long time working on A Caregiver’s Last Lesson. I would really like to try and get it published traditionally, but I have frequently felt lost when it comes to exploring the world of traditional publishing. As this has been one of the best places I have found for interacting with readers and writers, I thought I’d turn the question over to you guys. What does one do when they’ve finished and edited a novel and want to take it to that next step?

1. Make sure it’s as perfect as you can get it. That means chapter-by-chapter critique partners (good ones), beta readers, multiple drafts, extra eyes to help copy edit.

2. Once you’re sure the manuscript is ready, you need a query package – query letter with pitch, synopsis, and first five pages formatted for email.

3. Research agents. Most good publishers don’t accept unsolicited manuscripts. Those that do generally can’t do ANYTHING you couldn’t do yourself – but they claim the lion’s share of the royalties anyway. querytracker.net is where I would research agents that rep your genre.

4. Query in batches of 5-10. If you get no requests for partials or fulls, STOP querying. Fix your query and/or opening pages.

6 Likes

I’m on steps two and three. Do you know where I should go to get help on the query package?

Industry Insiders club here. You can do threads – I suggest separate ones – for critiques on your query letter and synopsis.

BE AWARE – you’re going to get asked hard questions, and you may find out you have holes you didn’t know you have or you lack elements that agents will be looking for. It may take many rewrites to get the query and synopsis right – and you may find out you need to do some rewriting of the novel as well.

1 Like

I am aware of such things and I have done many a rewrite previously. Could you do me the great favor of linking my to the industry insider club?