Wattpad Comment Expectations

Hello everyone! I’m brand new to Wattpad, and I was wondering what was expected with comments on stories. I know it’s always a good idea to leave compliments, but I was wondering if it’s considered rude or helpful to point out typos/problems in a story? I just don’t want to come off as being a dick if I point out all of the possible errors in a story, but on the opposite side of the coin, I absolutely want all of my errors pointed out in mine so that I might fix them. But I can see where maybe others wouldn’t want that.
So I’m just curious as to what is customary here!
Thanks!

2 Likes

This hasn’t happened on wattpad for me, but on another site it happens a lot, and it would bother me here too. The only thing I dislike is if someone rewrites something. Like they say. “You should show and not tell.” (Which Is a fine comment to make.) and then continue by rewriting my sentence or paragraph and say “like this”.

4 Likes

I guess that is a tricky one, as different writers have different expectations for what they expect from comments. Some, like yourself, want someone to point out any errors they might find and are open to suggestions and critiques, whereas, some others don’t necessarily like those kind of comments as I guess they view it as too harsh a comment, and would rather just like the encouragements.

There is no set expectation for how you choose to comment on another writers story (aside from being rude or bullying which is against wattpad guidelines) so it really depends on what kind of comments you prefer to leave. Some users will even mention somewhere on their story what they would like feedback on which can help when it comes to the comments you leave.