wattpad product team have some questions for y'all

FOLLOW THE LINKS TO RESPOND don’t respond here

4 Likes

I posted a couple of my stories on another site a while back. I was basically experimenting, trying to see if I could get a bigger audience. I found that there were some features that I really liked on the other site (since I’m a programmer I loved having the option to write my own code to format my chapters), but I got very few readers and didn’t find anything like the community here on Wattpad. I left up what I had already posted, but I stopped visiting the other site after just a couple weeks.

My biggest pet peeve about the Search results is that when you try to search for accounts dedicated to a genre, fandom, or topic, it comes back with completely inactive accounts while cutting out useful community accounts. As someone who runs an group account dedicated to helping writers of a particular fandom, it annoys me that the search results direct people to accounts where no one is around to help and doesn’t show our group at all.

One thing I like about the search, though, is that it’s easy to use and allows you a choice of whether to filter out certain kinds of books depending on what you’re interested in.

2 Likes

I was thinking about it as it was recommended to me since in other communities it is easier for new work to be noticed think of it as if the new category we have here where everything new has a chance to be viewed. Sometimes starting in a smaller community helps, but again I don’t have my work anywhere else-- or maybe I did try one place but I forgot lol.