What to look for in an editor?

I haven’t seen any thread about this topic yet, but what to look for when you’re searching for an editor?

I’m not sure what you’re asking. Could you please edit your question? I think some words are missing.

Also, the title of the thread seems to be asking for editing tips, but your question seems to be asking what to look for in an editor before engaging one. Could you please clarify?

What about now?

Much better.

I am an editor … So this might be biased.

If they write their own work, something they say is polished should be relatively free from grammatically errors.

If you’re looking for more than grammar and line edits, you need to get recommendations. Some editors excel at dialogue, while others are great at tightening plot lines or helping with action.

Also, what’s their education? If you are hiring through Wattpad, what groups are the l they involved with and how have past assignments gone?

1. Know the different types of editing and what they mean - developmental, line, copy, proofreading.

2. Understand what your manuscript needs.

3. Do your research. Cheap does NOT mean good. Understand the range of rates for each type of editing and budget accordingly.

4. Ask for recommendations from other authors. Most editors offer a free sample, use that to see if you are a good fit.

5. Most editors will sign a contract with you specifying the type of editing to be done and the time frames. A few weeks is normal. Months or YEARS is not.

Another question I have here, how long does an editor usally complete on their assignment before the book is ready?

That totally depends on the type of editing. I’ve had developmental edits where the editor needed a month as a minimum. My proofreader turns a manuscript around in a week. Time frame is something you discuss prior to contracting with an editor.