What's your opinion on commenting and in-line comments

Hi everyone! I’m Emily and I’m a Product Manager at Wattpad. I’m interested in learning more about getting feedback around comments and inline comments. My biggest question right now is: what is the biggest pain point you have about inline comments or comments right now? What frustrates you or annoys you?

Also when you leave your feedback could you also tell me:

1. Are you a writer?
  2. How often you read on Wattpad (monthly, weekly, yearly)?

Thanks!!!

Hmmm… I love the comments as a way to interact with readers and be receptive to feedback. Only, when someone comments on a typo (one always escapes no matter how long I spend proofreading,) all the inline comments in that line go away when I make the change. They become lost in space in all the comments, no longer attached to that one line. I understand why this is the way that it is, but it still irks me. As a reader, comments and author interactions are a part of the unique experience Wattpad offers. Sometimes, other readers offer humor to a dry scene or authors clarify something in response to reader confusion.

I’ll still love the comment feature regardless, but since you asked, there’s my little rant for the day.

Yes :grin:

It varies, but I’ve been trying to read more. At the present moment, it’s daily or weekly depending on how much time I have.

7 Likes

I’m a writer, but I do read several times a week as well!

It’s not so much a source of pain as “something I’d like to see eventually but can easily survive without”, but as a laptop user with no smartphone, I can’t put emojis in comments. That might be nice to help convey tone, but again, no biggie :slight_smile: