Writing out of order

So I just skipped a thousand chapters to the story I’m writing and wrote the epilogue. It was honestly a great experience and I am glad that I did. I think I am going to write out the main climax scene too. I think that should help with the middle (the point where I struggle the most)

Do you guys write out of order? If so, why? Is it better than writing in the correct order?

Nope, I feel like it hurts quality if I do.

Ah, really? I mean, it depends on the writers. This is my first time attempting it. I know that @stpolishook writes out order and she did tell me to do so various times.

Sometimes, I think it helps when people experience writers block on certain scenes. I think it helps to skip ahead and then come back with an idea of where you want the plot to go.

I do that. Usually, I have a skeleton of my story, like, a real real beginning, middle, and end, skeleton.

I have my prologue written, which is usually how I see the story ending, so I know what my ultimate goal is. Then I write normally, and sometimes, I want to write a certain scene, or I get inspiration for a piece that wouldn’t fit the place where I’m currently at, so I’d write that out.

More often than not, though, my story goes in a way different direction than I had planned, but I go with it. I don’t write the story, the story writes itself (if that makes sense :sweat_smile:)

But, yes, I do write out of order, and sometimes I feel that’s the best thing ever. Because when you’re stuck and don’t know what to write anymore, just detach yourself from the place you’re at and let your characters speak to you. That’s how I also sometimes get out of writer’s block, I just put my character’s in a different situation.

Sometimes even just fluff helps to get out of writer’s block. I’d write little scenes that aren’t important to the story, like a date, or a little family dinner, but that would get the juices flowing again and I can start writing again.