YA Pitch: Fame at First Sight

Hi! I’m finally executing an idea that I’ve had for a while for a YA novel. I’d love some feedback on the plot/character arcs/ideas/ending. I’m very new to this so I’ll take all the help I can get with this WIP! Thanks!

Title: “Fame At First Sight”

Plot: Your modern day “meet-cute.” After flying to New York City for a class trip to the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Kaia, a straight edge photography student from Florida quite literally bumps into Hollywood’s newest heartthrob, Jonathan Banks. Even though he attempts to hide his identity with a disguise, paparazzi captures the encounter at the Met and the tabloids begin to wonder, who is Jonny’s new mystery girl? After his manager lures Kaia into his life with an offer she can’t refuse of a fake relationship publicity stunt, she fails to fall in love with him, but instead falls in love with the fame. This may be a love story, but not between two people.

Summary

PART ONE:

Intro: Kaia is in her advanced senior photography class critique, her latest project being evaluated by her peers and professor.

Professor Ingram, who was a famous NYC Photographer when she was younger is being presented with an award for her new photography exhibit at the Met Museum. The Museum is funding her advanced class to come fly out and see the exhibit.

Kaia invites her best friend Coty to tag along on the trip, because they were planning on moving to NYC together after college. But after Coty and her boyfriend of 6 years break up, Coty backs out.

Kaia wants to stay home and be there for Coty, but she needs to learn to be selfish so Kaia has to embark on the big move after graduation on her own.

The class meet their professor at the airport, (the other 5 students and personalities are introduced here.) They explore NYC nightlife and after a dramatic night of encountering the wrong people, they end up drunkingly getting pizza and discussing each other’s struggles and passions and dreams.